Heat Players confirmed to play in Inaugural Women's Super Rugby Match

Nine Counties Manukau Heat players have been included in the inaugural Waitomo Chiefs Women’s squad for the first ever Super Rugby women’s match in Auckland next month.

The side will be coached by Counties Manukau’s Chad Shepherd and includes 12 Black Ferns players.

Heat skipper Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu headlines the side and is joined by provincial teammates Emily Kitson, Harono Te Iringa, Hazel Tubic, Langi Veainu, Ngatokotoru Arakua, Rebecca Burch, Shyanne Thompson and Waikohika Flesher.

“We are exceptionally excited for the opportunity to take on the nib Blues Women at Eden Park in under a month’s time,” Shepherd said. “As a coaching group we are really pleased with the squad we have selected for this historic occasion.”

“We have an exciting balance of youth and experience; our Black Ferns players provide great leadership among an exciting group of young talented players who have broken onto the scene during last year’s Farah Palmer Cup.

“This fixture is a great opportunity for these talented women to develop and take their game to the next level. It will be a special occasion for the girls to wear a Chiefs jersey for the first time and as a group we want to demonstrate what it means to proudly represent the club, our Chiefs Region, our fans and whānau.”

The nib Blues Women will host the Waitomo Chiefs Women in the historic encounter as a double header before the Blues vs. Gallagher Chiefs Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa fixture at Eden Park on Saturday 1 May at 4.35pm.