Applications now open for CMRFU board

Applications now open for CMRFU board

The Counties Manukau Rugby Football Union is calling on applicants who wish to join the board to submit their application by 5pm on Friday, February 2nd.

Following on from a Special General Meeting in October last year in which members voted in a new constitution, the Union has been governed by a transition board.

By this year’s Annual General Meeting on Sunday, March 24 it is intended that a full board will be established.

The new constitution makes provision for nine directors to sit on the CMRFU board:

  • 3 x Club Rugby Directors
  • 3 x Appointed Directors (people deemed to have requisite skills who come from inside rugby)
  • 3 x Independent Directors

In regard to the Club Rugby Directors, these positions will be voted on by the Club Leaders Group at their next meeting on February 13. Voting will be determined based on the number of senior teams clubs fielded in the most recent season.

The current interim Club Rugby Directors are Renee Maxwell, Andy Baker and Trevor Strang, who will need to re-apply if they seek to be re-appointed.

The Club Rugby Director application form is below and will need to be submitted by COB on February 2, 2024. Candidates must have their application seconded by an additional club and at least one of the three must come from a club which didn’t have a team in the senior premier grade in 2023.

As part of a board transition plan that was voted on at October’s Special General Meeting, the members agreed that current chair Gary Millington would be an appointed director with his term expiring in 2025. He will be part of the Board Appointments Panel and interview candidates who wish to apply to be either an Appointed Director or Independent Director 

As a result all other members of the current CMRFU transition board must re-apply if they wish to remain on the board. A copy of that application form is also below and these must be submitted by February 2nd as well. These application forms do not require a nomination from a club.

Once the February 2 deadline passes, the Board Appointments Panel will conduct interviews during February with a view to appointing two Appointed Directors and three Independent Directors. Gary Robertson (Papakura) and Hugh Chapman (Ardmore Marist) will represent the clubs on this panel and the successful candidates will be announced at the AGM on Sunday, March 24.

Anyone requiring further information can contact CEO Aaron Lawton via email at

A copy of the new constitution and the CMRFU board policies are also available for download below.


CMRFU Independent Appointed Director - Application Form
CMRFU Club Rugby Director - Application Form
CMRFU Constitution 
CMRFU Board Policies