CMRFU hosts Inaugural Northern Regions Cup

CMRFU hosts Inaugural Northern Regions Cup

Winter Tournament Week gets underway next week with the Northern Regions Cup Boy's and Girl's 1st XV competitions taking place.

The concept is a partnership between New Zealand Rugby and Counties Manukau Rugby and aims to provide meaningful competition and create more playing opportunities for all young men and women playing rugby.

A total of 10 boys’ teams will take part with seven local schools entering teams, while on the girls’ side there are six schools taking part of which half are from the Counties Manukau region.

In all, 48 games of rugby will be played across the three days, starting Monday August 28 and ending on Wednesday August 30.

The tournament will be played at Colin Lawrie Fields in Pukekohe.

The boys’ draw will be split into two pools of five and features local schools Wesley College, James Cook High, Manurewa High x 2, Rosehill College, Pukekohe High and Papakura High as well as Morrinsville College, Aorere College and Te Awamutu College.

James Cook High, Rosehill College and Pukekohe High School will fly the local flag in the girls’ draw with visiting schools Aorere College, Epsom Girls Grammar and Kelston Girls also in attendance.

The boys’ final takes place at 1pm next Wednesday with the girls’ final kicking off at 2pm.

“We have a great spread of teams across the wider region and are excited to have Wesley College, Manurewa, James Cook, and Pukekohe Highschool Boys teams competing against each other once again,” said CMRFU Head of Community Rugby Matt Megaw.

“We also have six very strong Girls’ teams, and this tournament is providing our local teams with the opportunity to make the leap from 10s to 15s.

“Over the three days, teams will get that chance to compete in mini-events each day, win spot prizes, enjoy chill-out areas, and have lunch with the PIC Steelers on Wednesday.

“The tournament will prove to be an awesome experience for all of those involved and a great way to finish off the 2023 Rugby season. Best of luck to the 16 teams competing next week.”

For more information and the draw click here.