Counties Manukau Steelers team named to play Auckland

DateFri, 16 Sep 2016


Steelers coaches Darryl Suasua, Grant Henson and Semo Sititi have named their team to take on Auckland in the Mitre 10 Cup at Eden Park on Sunday 18 September at 2:35pm.


There are only two changes to the starting 15 that fell agonisingly short to Taranaki on Wednesday night, with lock Viliame Rarasea returning and in the backline Sione Fifita comes onto the right wing, replacing Sione Molia who moves to the bench.


Lock Matiaha Martin moves to the pine, while Onosa’i Auva’a comes onto the bench for his first appearance of the season and halfback Jonathan Taumateine replaces Richard Judd.


Darryl Suasua said with the quick turnaround they haven’t had long to dwell on their last couple of close losses.


“There’s no doubt everyone was really disappointed with Wednesday night’s result, especially going back to back with Wellington the week before. But the guys have shaped up pretty well and everyone is in good spirits.


“We all realise that we have a big opportunity against our big brothers at Eden Park on Sunday. Eden Park is a holy grail, not just for New Zealand rugby, but world rugby. It’s a huge occasion playing there and everything about this weekend’s match is exciting for our boys.”


Our next home game in the Mitre 10 Cup is against Waikato on Friday 23 September at 7:35pm. Tickets are available for purchase at the CMRFU Office at ECOLight Stadium during office hours or at or at the Gate on game day. In the Grandstand, Adults cost $20, Students $15 and Kids $10. Kids 13 & Under are FREE on the South Auckland Motors Embankment thanks to Pak ‘n’ Save Pukekohe.


Steelers team to face Auckland:

1.       Sean Bagshaw

2.       Gafatasi Su’a

3.       Kalolo Tuiloma

4.       Viliame Rarasea

5.       Jimmy Tupou ©

6.       Matt Vaai

7.       Jordan Taufua

8.       Sootala Fa’aso’o

9.       Augustine Pulu ©

10.   Piers Francis

11.   Sherwin Stowers

12.   Cardiff Vaega

13.   Sam Vaka

14.   Sione Fifita

15.   Luteru Laulala


16.   Sione Aenga’aelangi

17.   Sean Paranihi

18.   Sione Faletau

19.   Matiaha Martin

20.   Onosa’i Auva’a

21.   Jonathan Taumateine

22.   Joe Reynolds

23.   Sione Molia

Richard Spranger - Photo Credit