Counties Manukau Steelers team named to play Hawke’s Bay

DateWed, 31 Aug 2016


Steelers coaches Darryl Suasua, Grant Henson and Semo Sititi have named their team to take on the Hawke’s Bay Magpies at McLean Park in Napier on Thursday night at 7:35pm.


There are no changes to the starting 15 that defeated Bay of Plenty at ECOLight Stadium on Sunday. However, there are three changes to the bench, with Sean Paranihi in line to make his Steelers debut. Richard Judd and Sione Fifita also come onto the pine this week.  


Coach Darryl Suasua said his side were excited to get the points on the board on Sunday, but with the short turnaround there are a few sore bodies.


“There were a few bumps and bruises after the Bay of Plenty game, but everyone seems to have pulled through ok. It’s exciting that Sean Paranihi is set to make his debut on Thursday night.


“We feel Augustine will only get stronger this week after playing his first game of 15s in a long time on Sunday. He really enjoyed the game but said he noticed how all the space just closed down in comparison to the Sevens game. He will grow and he is ready to lead the side against Hawke’s Bay.”


The Steelers next home game of the Mitre 10 Cup is against the Wellington Lions on Friday 9 September at 7:45pm at ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe. It will be a special occasion for both provincial unions, as they will be playing for the inaugural Jonah Lomu Memorial Trophy. The Steelers will be wearing special edition jerseys, which are based on the jersey that was worn by Jonah Lomu and his team mates in the 90’s. Tickets are available for purchase at or at the CMRFU Office at ECOLight Stadium between 8.30am and 5pm Monday to Friday or at the Gate on Game Day.


Steelers team to face Hawke’s Bay:

1.       Sean Bagshaw

2.       Gafatasi Su’a

3.       Kalolo Tuiloma

4.       Viliame Rarasea

5.       Matiaha Martin

6.       Jimmy Tupou ©

7.       Jordan Taufua

8.       Sootala Fa’aso’o

9.       Augustine Pulu ©

10.   Piers Francis

11.   Sherwin Stowers

12.   Cardiff Vaega

13.   Sam Vaka

14.   Sione Molia

15.   Luteru Laulala


16.   Suliasi Taufalele

17.   Sean Paranihi *

18.   Sione Faletau

19.   Savelio Ropati

20.   Viliami Taulani

21.   Richard Judd

22.   Joe Reynolds

23.   Sione Fifita



*Steelers debut



*Steelers debut

Photo Credit: Richard Spranger