Lidgard confirmed as CMRFU President at AGM

Lidgard confirmed as CMRFU President at AGM

Legendary PIC Steelers prop Lee Lidgard has been confirmed as the new President of Counties Manukau Rugby at their annual AGM on Sunday.

Lidgard takes over from for PIC Steelers teammate Jim Coe, who has served in the role for the past two years.

Famously representing the Papakura and Manurewa clubs, Lidgard was renowned as a no-nonsense front rower and was an unsung hero of the 1990s Steelers sides that went to two NPC division 1 finals.

Iconic Puni club man and fellow prop forward Jack Kani has been appointed as Vice President.

The popular Kani has been the heart and soul of the Puni club for many years and is a highly respected person within the Counties Manukau Rugby community.

Patumahoe was awarded the John Nicholson Trophy for Club of the Year while Te Kohanga’s Paikea Cooper was the Volunteer of the Year.

PIC Steelers player and Pukekohe representative Jarrod Halliday won the AS Wilcox Premier Club Player of the Year while Onewhero’s Brad Devlin won the George Bell Memorial Trophy for Long Service.

Brandon Roberts picked up the Referee of the Year Award.

The AGM went smoothly with the Union announcing a sound profit.