Players on the move in McNamara Cup

Players on the move in McNamara Cup

A host of big names have switched clubs this McNamara Cup season with title-winning skipper Bruce Kaino headlining the merry-go-round.

Kaino, who lifted the McNamara Cup in 2022 when Manurewa won for the first time since 1998, has made the move down the motorway to Bombay in 2023.

His experience and presence will be a massive shot in the arm for a Bombay outfit that missed the playoffs in 2022.

Fellow title winner Steven Leavasa has moved to Patumahoe and will wear the blue and gold colours he helped defeat in last year’s final (although he missed the final through injury).

The aggressive lock/loose forward has been a stand out player over the past couple of seasons.

Karaka has seen some movement as well – experienced first-five Ume Fusita has moved on while veteran lock Harry Fitzsimons is now plying his trade for Grammar TEC in Auckland.

Craig Hill’s side has picked up a handful of Fijian players while they have acquired the services of ex-Manurewa loose forward Faamoni Suetena.

The Dunn brothers – Pasqualle and Tane have moved to Pakuranga this season. Manurewa has moved to fill the void with some recruitment of their own and you'd be a fool to think the reigning champions won't be a contender again this season.

Also heading out East to play for the Auckland outfit is former Pukekohe winger Louis Taylor although Michael Porter’s side has been boosted by the return of talented lock Callum Adams.

Bombay, Papakura and Ardmore Marist have all recruited strongly and will welcome a host of new players to the competition this season.