Rainbow's End 1st XV Secondary Schools Comp officially kicks off!

DateTue, 31 May 2016


The Rainbow’s End 1st XV Secondary Schools Competition officially kicks off this weekend. The competition consists of eight teams - four Counties Manukau Rugby Union Secondary Schools and four Waikato Rugby Union Secondary Schools. It’s a new initiative for Counties schools.



The teams are Manurewa High School, Rosehill College, Alfriston College, Pukekohe High School, St Johns College, Cambridge High School, Te Awamutu College and Matamata College.


The first Rainbow’s End 1st XV Secondary Schools game was actually played on Saturday (28th May) between Manurewa & St Johns at Manurewa High School – it was televised on Sky Sport. St Johns won 30-6.


This week, Pukekohe & Matamata will be playing for the Deon Muir 1st XV Challenge Trophy. The winner will then take it onto their next game and so on. It will be played for throughout the competition.  


Good luck to all teams involved! 


Below are this weekend’s fixtures:


Rainbow's End 1st XV Secondary Schools Competition - All games at 12:00pm on Saturday 4th June:

Manurewa HS 1st XV vs Rosehill College 1st XV - Manurewa HS 1

Alfriston College 1st XV vs Cambridge High 1st XV - Alfriston College CM 1

Pukekohe HS 1st XV vs Matamata College 1st XV - Pukekohe HS 1

St Johns 1st XV vs Te Awamutu College 1st XV - St Johns 1 (Waikato RFU)