Senior rugby schedule confirmed for 2023

Senior rugby schedule confirmed for 2023

Reigning McNamara Cup champions Manurewa will face 2021 champions Karaka in the opening round of the 2023 championship after the draw was released on Friday.

In a replay of their gripping semi-final last season, which saw Jeremy Clark's side hold on for a famous win, the two sides will meet at Karaka Sports Complex when the seven-team competition gets underway on April 1.

Pukekohe will host Papakura at Colin Lawrie Fields while Ardmore Marist travel up the hill to Bombay in the other games in the opening round.

2022 runners-up Patumahoe will have the opening round bye.

The same draw will be replicated with all seven clubs entering teams in the Bob Chandler Premier Reserves grade this season.

Massey Cup U21 champions Karaka will travel to Mountfort Park to face Manurewa in their season opener on April 1.

Elsewhere Patumahoe hosts Ardmore Marist, who have an U21s side for the first time in a long time, while Pukekohe meets Papakura at Colin Lawrie Fields.

Waiuku will have the opening round bye.

The Sid Marshall Shield Championship competition begins a fortnight later and will feature 12 teams.

Weymouth will meet Waiuku in a mouth-watering opening round clash at Laurie Gibbons Reserve while defending champs Puni will host Te Kohanga in another game that will command significant interest.

The annual Gumboot Game takes place in the first week as well with Maramarua traveling to Te Kauwhata.

In other games, Tuakau hosts Drury, Onewhero travels to Patumahoe while Manurewa hosts Karaka.

The eagerly anticipated Bright Cup U19 competition returns with five teams taking part.

The competition gets underway on April 15 with Pukekohe hosting Papakura at Colin Lawrie Fields and Manurewa traveling to Te Kauwhata to face the TeMaraWhero combination side.

Karaka has the first round bye.

An 11-team U85kg competition has been confirmed and will also start on April 15. Defending champions Onewhero will host Bombay in the opener.

Elsewhere Ardmore Marist hosts Waiuku, Beachlands Maraetai and Drury square-off at Te Puru Park, Karaka travels to Pukekohe while Patumahoe hosts Papakura at Clive Howe Reserve.

Manurewa has the bye.

There will be three local sides competing in the Auckland Women's Premier competition with Manurewa, Papakura and Pukekohe taking part.

In an exciting move, Weymouth have a 10-a-side women's side this season and will join Patumahoe in that grade.

Ardmore Marist and Pukekohe will enter teams in the Presidents grade in the Auckland competition.

The draw is available here.