Teams in city wide competition to compete for John Spiers Trophy

Teams in city wide competition to compete for John Spiers Trophy

The best clubs in the greater Auckland region will be fighting for the John Spiers Trophy when they contest the inaugural pre-season knock-out competition next month.

Leading clubs from Auckland, North Harbour and Counties Manukau will battle it out over three weeks to determine the top club side in the Super City.

The winners will be presented the John Spiers Trophy – named after one of the region’s most renowned rugby players.

Spiers has, to the best of anyone’s knowledge, played more senior games of rugby than anyone else having racked up a phenomenal 402 Premier club games for the Pukekohe club as well as playing 153 matches for Counties and 28 games for the All Blacks including five test matches.

His rugby playing career at senior level began in 1967 and continued until 1991. However, Spiers continued to play reserves and social rugby after that.

“John Spiers is one of a kind and one of the greatest club players of all-time,” competition driver Craig Carter said.

“When we thought about a player that epitomised excellence and commitment at club level, there was no one more appropriate to name this competition after than Spiero.”

The inaugural competition begins on March 11 and will see teams play games over three successive weekends.

Teams taking part are Ponsonby, North Shore, Pukekohe, Kumeu, Papakura, Karaka, Manurewa, Bombay, Manukau, Pakuranga, Grammar TEC, Papatoetoe, Eden, Patumahoe.