2023 CMRFU Under 19s Squad named

2023 CMRFU Under 19s Squad named

A sprinkling of Premier club talent and 10 Counties Manukau Academy players have been named in the 2023 Counties Manukau U19 squad for the upcoming Northern Region Provincial Union Under 19 Tournament.

Austin Carew (Papakura), Taeao Pomale-Time (Karaka) and Ben Hoddle (Papakura) have all been regular players in their respective club’s premier sides this season while prop Mak Kailahi, hooker Jessiah Tanoai, prop Fakaongo Leaaemanu, lock Nathan Halliday, Pomale-Time, Carew, loose forward Lenz Tupai, first-five Andrew Malua, midfield back Kafa Vaea, and midfield back Siaosi Lealiifano are all part of the Counties Manukau Academy.

The side will be coached by Counties Manukau Rugby’s Academy Manager Richie Harris as well as Greg Stanford, JP Fa’amausili, Nick Baskett and Siua Pole.

“Team selection recognises the commitment of these players in times when University studies, work commitments etc make it difficult for young men to find the time for Representative programmes,” explained coach and Academy Manager Richie Harris. “I feel for players who have a passion for the game, but just can’t commit fully to training and playing beyond the club season.

“The Team will look to really grasp the values of Counties Manukau and “Pride in the Hoops”, that being Red (courage), White (connect), Black (work hard) and apply these to the way they play on a field.”

There are Counties Manukau U19s-eligible players named in both the PIC Steelers and the Steelers Development squads that could feature for this side.

The Counties Manukau U19s will play at least seven matches through the representative window, starting with a game against Waikato from midday this Saturday at Albert Park in Te Awamutu.

Counties Manukau U19s

Props: Mak Kailahi (Karaka), Fakaongo Leaaemanu (Karaka), Loshaunce Leaso (Karaka), Carlos Tangikau-Thomas (Pukekohe)

Hookers: Jessiah Tanoai (Patumahoe), Junior Tolutau (Patumahoe)

Locks: Nathan Halliday (Pukekohe), Jeff Tuinayau (Karaka)

Loose Forwards: Austin Carew (Papakura), Matt Haig (Pukekohe), Lenz Morunga-Ituni (Manurewa), Taylor Murtagh (Patumahoe), Rupeni Nakiyoyo (Pukekohe), Taeao Pomale-Time (Karaka)

Halfbacks: Jayden Clark (Manurewa), Roman Faamausili (Karaka)

First-fives: Ben Hoddle (Papakura), Andrew Malua (Karaka)

Midfield Backs: Siaosi Lealiifano (Manurewa), Quincy Penisio (Karaka), Kafa Vaea (Karaka)

Outside Backs: Jayden Flanagan (Pukekohe), Eucharist Lafolafo (Ardmore Marist), Mangisi Mafile’o (Karaka), Ben Mundy (Patumahoe)

Injured: Liam Dowdall (Pukekohe), Zach Baleicakau (Patumahoe)

Coaches: Greg Stanford, JP Fa’amausili, Nick Baskett, Siua Pole
Coach/Manager: Richie Harris
Trainer: Declan Ward
Physios: Michelle Erasmus, Tayla Thornton