Counties Manuaku U85 Squad announced

Counties Manuaku U85 Squad announced

The Counties Manukau U85kg representative squad has been named with players coming out of nine different clubs chosen to represent the Union.

Club champions Waiuku supplied five players in the 29-strong squad while players from Patumahoe, Karaka, Pukekohe, Onewhero, Beachlands Maraetai, Ardmore Marist, Drury and Papakura were also selected in the squad.

Corban Glendinning (Ardmore Marist), Matthew Hill (Karaka), Reuben Menzies (Pukekohe) and Suji Vosikata (Karaka), who all played premier rugby through the course of the season, are among the players chosen by coaches Semi Sitigata and Richard Brooks.

“I had a privilege of watching all the 85’s teams throughout the season and I have selected some amazing experienced and talented players and some are young players from all the clubs,” Sitigata said.

“And I’m so looking forward to be part of the Counties U85’s team 2023.

“We have set some high goals to win the competition this year - the team and myself are so looking forward to the challenge.

“We had our first pre-season game on Saturday against Waikato and I’m so proud of the boys - we drew 17-17.

“Still a lot of improvement to come and a lot to work on. We have North Harbour this week and we are very excited about the 2023 season.

Click here for full draw and results.

Counties Manukau U85kg squad 2023

Caleb Bailey (Beachlands Maraetai), Josh Baverstock (Karaka), Jamie Bidois (Pukekohe), Jamie Cochrane (Patumahoe), Zane Evans (Beachlands Maraetai), Corban Glendinning (Ardmore Marist), Jarrod Hill (Karaka), Matthew Hill (Karaka), Scott Hooper (Pukekohe), Ethan James (Waiuku), Dylan Kroef (Patumahoe), Josiah Lander (Papakura), Taylor Lennard (Waiuku), Anare Lovobalavu (Karaka), Makapi Mataio (Drury), Reuben Menzies (Pukekohe), Troy Michie (Patumahoe), Tyronne Minhinnkick (Patumahoe), Phill Moody (Pukekohe), Jone Muakalou (Karaka), Brent Richards (Onewhero), Todd Scholten (Patumahoe), Luke Shanks (Ardmore Marist), Kurtis Shuker (Waiuku), Ashton Sione (Waiuku), Josiua Tuisova (Karaka), Suji Vosikata (Karaka), Raiden Wells (Patumahoe), Aaron Yuill (Waiuku).