Replay of 2023 final opens 2024 McNamara Cup season

Replay of 2023 final opens 2024 McNamara Cup season

A replay of last season’s epic McNamara Cup final will open the 2024 season with reigning champions Manurewa heading to Karaka Sports Complex on April 6.

The two sides produced one of the most memorable finals in McNamara Cup history last year when Manurewa stormed home to defend their crown with time expired on the clock.

Karaka won’t have to wait long for their chance at redemption, taking on Jeremy Clark’s side in the first match of the new campaign.

Pukekohe, who were the top side through round robin play in 2023, will begin their 2024 season with a home match against Ardmore Marist.

Patumahoe hosts a vastly improved Papakura in what shapes as an intriguing first round contest.

Bombay has the opening round bye.

Counties Sports Hub Shield holders Manurewa begin their season with a first round trip to Cox’s Bay Reserve to play long-time rivals Ponsonby in the Coleman Shield opener on April 6.

Four local sides will take part in the women’s premier grade this year.

Pukekohe will meet Papatoetoe at Papatoetoe Recreation Ground while Papakura travel to the Vauxhall Sportsfields to take on North Shore.

Newcomers Karaka begin their campaign with an away match against Marist at Mt Wellington War Memorial Park.

The renamed Premier Development men's grade begins on the same day with those sides following the same schedule as the Premier men's competition.

The draw for the 10-team U85kg grade has also been confirmed.

Defending champions Waiuku kick off their title defence at home against Onewhero while beaten finalists from 2023 Patumahoe head to Drury for their first game.

Elsewhere, Beachlands Maraetai travels to Papakura, Bombay hosts Karaka while Ardmore Marist and Pukekohe meet at Bruce Pulman Park.

Find the Counties Energy Senior Club Rugby draws here.

For the Women's Premier draw click here.